Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Academic Faculty


Dr. Ahlquist Photo

Dr. Jon E. Ahlquist

Associate Professor | Meteorology
jeahlquist@fsu.edu
(850) 644-1558
EOAS 3017
Website | CV

• Atmospheric predictability
• Statistics
• Weathercasting
Dr. Atwood Photo

Dr. Alyssa Atwood

Assistant Professor | Oceanography and Meteorology
aatwood@fsu.edu
(850) 644-2770
EOS 4017
Website | Google Scholar

• Tropical climate variability and change
• Isotope geochemistry
• Paleoclimate data, models and theory
Dr. Baco-Taylor Photo

Dr. Amy Baco-Taylor

Associate Professor | Oceanography
abacotaylor@fsu.edu
(850) 645-1547
EOAS 4005
Google Scholar

• Marine Molecular Ecology
• Benthic Ecology
• Deep-Sea Coral Ecology
• Conservation of Benthic Marine Invertebrates
Dr. Bourassa Photo

Dr. Mark A. Bourassa

Professor | Meteorology
mbourassa@fsu.edu
(850) 645-4788
EOAS 5009
Website | Google Scholar | CV

• Air/Sea Interaction and Observing Systems
• Remote Sensing
• Boundary-Layer Meteorology
• Tropical Meteorology
Dr. Cai Photo

Dr. Ming Cai

Professor | Meteorology
mcai@fsu.edu
(850) 645-1551
EOAS M5015
Google Scholar | CV

• Dynamics of global mass circulation, Climate Change, Stratosphere-Troposphere Coupling
Dr. Chagnon Photo

Dr. Jeff Chagnon

Assistant Professor | Meteorology
jchagnon@fsu.edu
(850) 644-2752
EOAS 6079
Google Scholar

• Mid-Latitude Dynamics Numerical Modeling
Dr. Chanton Photo

Dr. Jeff Chanton

Lawton Distinguished Professor | Oceanography
jchanton@fsu.edu
(850) 644-7493
EOAS 4004
Google Scholar | CV

• Chemical Oceanography Geochemistry
• Environmental Geologyy
Dr. Chassignet Photo

Dr. Eric Chassignet

Distinguished Professor | Oceanography
echassignet@fsu.edu
(850) 645-7288
EOAS 4023 and COAPS 207
Website | Google Scholar | CV

• Climate variability from coupled ocean-atmosphere modeling and observations.
• Emphasis on the study of thermohaline circulation, western boundary currents, associated eddies and their impact on the world ocean circulation.
Dr. Clarke Photo

Dr. Allan J. Clarke

Adrian E. Gill Distinguished Professor | Oceanography
aclarke@fsu.edu
(850) 644-2240
EOAS 4019
Website | Google Scholar | CV

• Climate Dynamics
• El Niño Predictions
• Equatorial & Shelf Water Dynamics
• Sea Level Rise
• Surface waves & near-surface ocean flow
• High latitude oceanography
Dr. Dewar Photo

Dr. William Dewar

The Pierre Welander Professor | Oceanography
wdewar@fsu.edu
(850) 644-4099
EOAS 4021
CV

• Dynamics of the ocean at scales from 100 km to 10,000 km, or from the deformation scale to the basin scale.
Dr. Fuelberg Photo

Dr. Henry Fuelberg

Professor | Meteorology
hfuelberg@fsu.edu
(850) 644-6466
EOAS 6083
Website | CV

• Synoptic and Mesometeorology, Lightning, Long-range transport of pollutants and emissions
Dr. Fuentes Photo

Dr. Mariana Fuentes

Assistant Professor | Oceanography
mfuentes@fsu.edu
(850) 644-1118
EOAS 6093
Website | Google Scholar

• Marine Conservation
• Conservation Planning, Natural Resource Management
• Anthropogenic and Climate Change Impacts on Marine Mega-Fauna, especially Marine Turtles
Dr. Hart Photo

Dr. Robert Hart

Professor | Meteorology
rhart@fsu.edu
(850) 645-1552
EOAS 6085
Website | CV

• Synoptic-Dynamic Meteorology
• Tropical Cyclones
• Cyclone genesis and development
• Tropical-extratropical interactions
• Statistical and Numerical weather prediction
• Visualization techniques
Dr. Holmes Photo

Dr. Christopher Holmes

Assistant Professor | Meteorology
cdholmes@fsu.edu
(850) 645-0972
EOAS 6051
Website | Google Scholar

• Atmospheric Chemistry
• Climate Change
• Atmosphere-Surface Interactions
. Air quality
. Fires and Smoke
Dr. Hsu Photo

Dr. Shi-Ling Hsu

D’Alemberte Professor | Environmental Law and Policy
shsu@law.fsu.edu
(850) 644-0726
LAW A227C
Website | Google Scholar

Dr. Huettel Photo

Dr. Markus Huettel

Professor | Oceanography
mhuettel@fsu.edu
(850) 645-1394
EOAS 5002
Website | CV

• Benthic Ecology
• Ecology of coastal and shelf environments with emphasis on processes in the sediments and at the sediment-water interface.
Dr. Humayun Photo

Dr. Munir Humayun

Professor | Geology
humayun@magnet.fsu.edu
(850) 644-1908
EOAS M5007 and NHMFL B326
Google Scholar | CV

• Cosmochemistry
• Laser ablation microanalysis
• Geochemistry of the platinum group elements
• Isotope Systematics
Dr. Knapp Photo

Dr. Angela Knapp

Associate Professor | Oceanography
anknapp@fsu.edu
(850) 644-0259
EOAS 5007
Website | Google Scholar

• Nitrogen Cycling
• Marine Biogeochemistry
• Isotope Geochemistry
• Nitrogen Fixation
Dr. Kranz Photo

Dr. Sven Kranz

Assistant Professor | Oceanography
skranz@fsu.edu
(850) 645-0954
EOAS 6091
Website | Google Scholar | CV

• Phytoplankton Ecology
• Antarctic and Tropical Oceanic Primary Production
• Photosynthesis
• Nutrient Acquisition by Phytoplankton
• N2 Fixation by Cynobacteria
Dr. Liu Photo

Dr. Guosheng Liu

Professor | Meteorology
gliu@fsu.edu
(850) 644-6298
EOAS 6033
Website | Google Scholar | CV

• Radiative transfer, Satellite remote sensing and applications to forecasting and climate research
Dr. MacDonald Photo

Dr. Ian MacDonald

Professor | Oceanography
imacdonald@fsu.edu
(850) 644-5498
EOAS 3023
CV

• Deep ocean extreme communities
Dr. Mason Photo

Dr. Olivia Mason

Associate Professor | Oceanography
omason@fsu.edu
(850) 645-1725
EOAS 4009
Website | Google Scholar

• Marine Microbial Ecology
Dr. Misra Photo

Dr. Vasu Misra

Professor | Meteorology
vmisra@fsu.edu
(850) 644-2814
EOAS 5049
Website | CV

• Climate variability and predictability
Dr. Mookherjee Photo

Dr. Mainak Mookherjee

Associate Professor | Geology
mmookherjee@fsu.edu
(850) 644-1536
EOAS 6075
Website | Google Scholar

• Mineral Physics
• Solid Earth
Dr. Nicholson Photo

Dr. Sharon E. Nicholson

Professor | Meteorology
snicholson@fsu.edu
(850) 644-4022
EOAS M5023
CV | Google Scholar

• Tropical meteorology
Dr. Owens Photo

Dr. Jeremy Owens

Assistant Professor | Geology
jdowens@fsu.edu
(850) 644-5018
EOAS M5002 and NHMFL B236
Website | Google Scholar

• Paleooceanography & Paleoclimatology
• Biogeochemistry
• Isotope Geochemistry
• Stratigraphy & Sedimentary Geochemistry
Dr. Parfitt Photo

Dr. Rhys Parfitt

Assistant Professor | Meteorology and Oceanography
rparfitt@fsu.edu
(850) 645-9810
EOAS 6077
Website | Google Scholar

• Marine meteorology
• Mid-latitude climate variability
Dr. Ray Photo

Dr. Peter S. Ray

Professor | Meteorology
pray@fsu.edu
(850) 644-1894
CAR 111
CV

• Physical Meteorology
• Doppler Radar
• Microphysical retrieval
• Cloud Modeling
Dr. Salters Photo

Dr. Vincent J.M. Salters

Department Chair
Professor | Geology
salters@magnet.fsu.edu
(850) 644-1934
Chairs Office – EOAS 2008D
EOAS M5004 and NHMFL B302
Google Scholar | CV

• Trace element & isotope geochemistry
Dr. Speer Photo

Dr. Kevin Speer

Professor | Oceanography
kspeer@fsu.edu
(850) 645-4846
EOAS 4011 and KEEN 018
CV

• Deep currents & polar circulation
Dr. Spencer Photo

Dr. Robert Spencer

Associate Professor | Oceanography
rgspencer@fsu.edu
(850) 645-0955
EOAS 4015
Website | Google Scholar

• Biogeochemistry
Dr. Stukel Photo

Dr. Mike Stukel

Associate Professor | Oceanography
mstukel@fsu.edu
(850) 645-0960
EOAS 6089
Website | Google Scholar | CV

• The Biological Pump
• Plankton Trophic Dynamics
• The Balance of New and Export Production
• Th-234 Flux
• Biogeochemical Modeling
Dr. Sura Photo

Dr. Philip Sura

Associate Professor | Meteorology
psura@fsu.edu
(850) 644-1268
EOAS 6039
Website | CV

• Stochastic-dynamical understanding of extreme climate events
Dr. Tull Photo

Dr. James F. Tull

Professor | Geology
jtull@fsu.edu
(850) 644-1448
EOAS 5003
CV

• Structural and metamorphic core evolution
• Thrust belt evolution
• Tectonic modeling of Paleozoic orogenic belts, emphasis on Appalachian and • Caledonian mountain systems
• Successor basin formation and genesis
Dr. Wang Photo

Dr. Yang Wang

Professor | Geology
ywang@magnet.fsu.edu
(850) 644-1121
EOAS M5005 and NHMFL B327
Google Scholar | CV

• Geochemistry
• Paleoclimate and paleoecology
• Food webs in modern and fossil ecosystems
• Biogeochemical cycling of carbon and nutrients
• Water cycle
Dr. Wing Photo

Dr. Allison Wing

Assistant Professor | Meteorology
awing@fsu.edu
(850) 644-2245
EOAS 6081
Website | Google Scholar

• Tropical Convection and Climate
• Tropical Cyclones
Dr. Wu Photo

Dr. Zhaohua Wu

Associate Professor | Meteorology
zwu@coaps.fsu.edu
(850) 645-7463
EOAS 6041 and COAPS 219A
Google Scholar | CV

• Atmospheric and climate dynamics
Dr. Ye Photo

Dr. Ming Ye

Professor | Geology
mye@fsu.edu
(850) 645-4987
EOAS 3015
Website | Google Scholar

• Hydrogeology
• Groundwater reactive transport modeling
• Uncertainty quantification
• Geostatistics
Dr. Young Photo

Dr. Seth Young

Assistant Professor | Geology
sayoung2@fsu.edu
(850) 644-2703
EOAS 5004
Website | Google Scholar

• Stratigragraphy & Sedimentary Geochemistry
• Stable Isotope Biogeochemistry
• Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology
• Carbon and Sulfur Cycling