Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Academic Faculty


Dr. Ahlquist Photo

Dr. Jon E. Ahlquist


Associate Professor | Meteorology
jeahlquist@fsu.edu
(850) 644-1558
LOV 421
Website | CV

• Atmospheric predictability
• Statistics
• Weathercasting
Dr. Baco-Taylor Photo

Dr. Amy Baco-Taylor


Associate Professor | Oceanography
abacotaylor@fsu.edu
(850) 645-1547
OSB 509
Google Scholar

• Marine Molecular Ecology
• Benthic Ecology
• Deep-Sea Coral Ecology
• Conservation of Benthic Marine Invertebrates
Dr. Bourassa Photo

Dr. Mark A. Bourassa


Professor | Meteorology
mbourassa@fsu.edu
(850) 645-4788
LOV 315
Website | Google Scholar | CV

• Air/Sea Interaction and Observing Systems
• Remote Sensing
• Boundary-Layer Meteorology
• Tropical Meteorology
Dr. Cai Photo

Dr. Ming Cai


Professor | Meteorology
mcai@fsu.edu
(850) 645-1551
LOV 306A
Google Scholar | CV

• Dynamics of global mass circulation, Climate Change, Stratosphere-Troposphere Coupling
Dr. Chagnon Photo

Dr. Jeff Chagnon


Assistant Professor | Meteorology
jchagnon@fsu.edu
(850) 644-2752
LOV 363
Google Scholar

• Mid-Latitude Dynamics Numerical Modeling
Dr. Chanton Photo

Dr. Jeff Chanton


Lawton Distinguished Professor | Oceanography
jchanton@fsu.edu
(850) 644-7493
OSB 305
Google Scholar | CV

• Chemical Oceanography Geochemistry
• Environmental Geologyy
Dr. Chassignet Photo

Dr. Eric Chassignet


Professor | Oceanography
echassignet@coaps.fsu.edu
(850) 644-4581
COAPS 207
Website | Google Scholar | CV

• Climate variability from coupled ocean-atmosphere modeling and observations.
• Emphasis on the study of thermohaline circulation, western boundary currents, associated eddies and their impact on the world ocean circulation.
Dr. Clarke Photo

Dr. Allan J. Clarke


Adrian E. Gill Distinguished Professor | Oceanography
aclarke@fsu.edu
(850) 644-2240
OSB 433A
Website | Google Scholar | CV

• Climate Dynamics
• El Niño Predictions
• Equatorial & Shelf Water Dynamics
• Sea Level Rise
• Surface waves & near-surface ocean flow
• High latitude oceanography
Dr. Dewar Photo

Dr. William Dewar


The Pierre Welander Professor | Oceanography
wdewar@fsu.edu
(850) 644-4099
OSB 435
CV

• Dyanmics of the ocean at scales from 100 km to 10,000 km, or from the deformation scale to the basin scale.
Dr. Fuelberg Photo

Dr. Henry Fuelberg


Professor | Meteorology
hfuelberg@fsu.edu
(850) 644-6466
LOV 362
Website | CV

• Synoptic and Mesometeorology, Lightning, Long-range transport of pollutants and emissions
Dr. Fuentes Photo

Dr. Mariana Fuentes


Assistant Professor | Oceanography
mfuentes@fsu.edu
(850) 644-1118
OSB 507
Website | Google Scholar

• Marine Conservation
• Conservation Planning, Natural Resource Management
• Anthropogenic and Climate Change Impacts on Marine Mega-Fauna, especially Marine Turtles
Dr. Hart Photo

Dr. Robert Hart


Professor | Meteorology
rhart@fsu.edu
(850) 645-1552
LOV 361
Website | CV

• Synoptic-Dynamic Meteorology
• Tropical Cyclones
• Cyclone genesis and development
• Tropical-extratropical interactions
• Statistical and Numerical weather prediction
• Visualization techniques
Dr. Holmes Photo

Dr. Christopher Holmes


Assistant Professor | Meteorology
cdholmes@fsu.edu
(850) 645-0972
LOV 416
Website | Google Scholar

• Atmospheric Chemistry
• Climate Change
• Atmosphere-Surface Interactions
Dr. Huettel Photo

Dr. Markus Huettel


Professor | Oceanography
mhuettel@fsu.edu
(850) 645-1394
OSB 517
Website | CV

• Benthic Ecology
• Ecology of coastal and shelf environments with emphasis on processes in the sediments and at the sediment-water interface.
Dr. Humayun Photo

Dr. Munir Humayun


Professor | Geology
humayun@magnet.fsu.edu
(850) 644-1908
NHMFL B326
Google Scholar | CV

• Cosmochemistry
• Laser ablation microanalysis
• Geochemistry of the platinum group elements
• Isotope Systematics
Dr. Kish Photo

Dr. Stephen Kish


Associate Professor | Geology
skish@fsu.edu
(850) 644-2064
CAR 224
CV

• Igneous and Metamorphic petrology
• Isotope use in geochronological and geochemical studies
Dr. Knapp Photo

Dr. Angela Knapp


Assistant Professor | Oceanography
anknapp@fsu.edu
(850) 644-0259
OSB 309
Website | Google Scholar

• Nitrogen Cycling
• Marine Biogeochemistry
• Isotope Geochemistry
• Nitrogen Fixation
Dr. Kranz Photo

Dr. Sven Kranz


Assistant Professor | Oceanography
skranz@fsu.edu
(850) 645-0954
OSB 517
Website | Google Scholar | CV

• Phytoplankton Ecology
• Antarctic and Tropical Oceanic Primary Production
• Photosynthesis
• Nutrient Acquisition by Phytoplankton
• N2 Fixation by Cynobacteria
Dr. Landing Photo

Dr. William M. Landing


Professor | Oceanography
wlanding@fsu.edu
(850) 644-6037
OSB 325
Google Scholar | CV

• Biogeochemical cycling of trace elements
Dr. Liu Photo

Dr. Guosheng Liu


Professor | Meteorology
gliu@fsu.edu
(850) 644-6298
LOV 419
Website | Google Scholar | CV

• Radiative transfer, Satellite remote sensing and applications to forecasting and climate research
Dr. MacDonald Photo

Dr. Ian MacDonald


Professor | Oceanography
imacdonald@fsu.edu
(850) 644-5498
OSB 511
CV

• Deep ocean extreme communities
Dr. Mason Photo

Dr. Olivia Mason


Associate Professor | Oceanography
omason@fsu.edu
(850) 645-1725
OSB 307
Website | Google Scholar

• Marine Microbial Ecology
Dr. Misra Photo

Dr. Vasu Misra


Professor | Meteorology
vmisra@fsu.edu
(850) 644-2814
LOV 420
Website | CV

• Climate variability and predictability
Dr. Mookherjee Photo

Dr. Mainak Mookherjee


Assistant Professor | Geology
mmookherjee@fsu.edu
(850) 644-1536
CAR 226
Website | Google Scholar

• Mineral Physics
• Solid Earth
• Volatiles in the deep Earth
Dr. Nicholson Photo

Dr. Sharon E. Nicholson


Professor | Meteorology
snicholson@fsu.edu
(850) 644-4022
LOV 306D
CV

• Tropical meteorology
Dr. Nienhuis Photo

Dr. Jaap Nienhuis


Assistant Professor | Geology
jnienhuis@fsu.edu
(850) 645-4987
CAR 311A
Website | Google Scholar

• Morphodynamic modelling
• Sediment transport
• River deltas and estuaries
• Tidal inlets and barrier islands
• Bedforms
Dr. Odom Photo

Dr. Leroy Odom


Professor | Geology
odom@magnet.fsu.edu
(850) 644-6706
NHMFL B303
CV

• Isotopic geochemistry
• Geochronology
• ESR dosimitry and thermometry
Dr. Owens Photo

Dr. Jeremy Owens


Assistant Professor | Geology
jdowens@fsu.edu
(850) 644-5018
CAR 224
Website | Google Scholar

• Paleooceanography & Paleoclimatology
• Biogeochemistry
• Isotope Geochemistry
• Stratigraphy & Sedimentary Geochemistry
Dr. Parker Photo

Dr. William C. Parker


Associate Professor | Geology
wparker@fsu.edu
(850) 644-1568
CAR 207
CV

• Evolutionary Paleontology
• Paleoecology
• Multivariate Data Analysis
Dr. Ray Photo

Dr. Peter S. Ray


Professor | Meteorology
pray@fsu.edu
(850) 644-1894
LOV 429
CV

• Physical Meteorology
• Doppler Radar
• Microphysical retrieval
• Cloud Modeling
Dr. Salters Photo

Dr. Vincent J.M. Salters


Professor | Geology
salters@magnet.fsu.edu
(850) 644-1934
NHMFL B302
Google Scholar | CV

• Trace element & isotope geochemistry
Dr. Speer Photo

Dr. Kevin Speer


Professor | Oceanography
kspeer@fsu.edu
(850) 645-4846
KEEN 018
CV

• Deep currents & polar circulation
Dr. Spencer Photo

Dr. Robert Spencer


Associate Professor | Oceanography
rgspencer@fsu.edu
(850) 644-9205
OSB 303
Website | Google Scholar

• Biogeochemistry
Dr. Stukel Photo

Dr. Mike Stukel


Assistant Professor | Oceanography
mstukel@fsu.edu
(850) 645-0960
OSB 323
Website | Google Scholar | CV

• The Biological Pump
• Plankton Trophic Dynamics
• The Balance of New and Export Production
• Th-234 Flux
• Biogeochemical Modeling
Dr. Sura Photo

Dr. Philip Sura


Associate Professor | Meteorology
psura@fsu.edu
(850) 644-1268
LOV 431A
Website | CV

• Stochastic-dynamical understanding of extreme climate events
Dr. Tull Photo

Dr. James F. Tull


Department Chair
Professor | Geology
jtull@fsu.edu
(850) 644-1448
CAR 309
CV

• Structural and metamorphic core evolution
• Thrust belt evolution
• Tectonic modeling of Paleozoic orogenic belts, emphasis on Appalachian and • Caledonian mountain systems
• Successor basin formation and genesis
Dr. Wang Photo

Dr. Yang Wang


Professor | Geology
ywang@magnet.fsu.edu
(850) 644-1121
NHMFL B237
Google Scholar | CV

• Geochemistry
• Paleoclimate and paleoecology
• Food webs in modern and fossil ecosystems
• Biogeochemical cycling of carbon and nutrients
• Water cycle
Dr. Wing Photo

Dr. Allison Wing


Assistant Professor | Meteorology
awing@fsu.edu
(850) 644-2245
LOV 423
Website | Google Scholar

• Tropical Convection and Climate
• Tropical Cyclones
Dr. Wu Photo

Dr. Zhaohua Wu


Associate Professor | Meteorology
zwu@coaps.fsu.edu
(850) 645-7463
COAPS 219A
Google Scholar | CV

• Atmospheric and climate dynamics
Dr. Ye Photo

Dr. Ming Ye


Professor | Geology
mye@fsu.edu
(850) 644-3743
CAR 303
Website | Google Scholar

• Hydrogeology
• Groundwater reactive transport modeling
• Uncertainty quantification
• Geostatistics
Dr. Young Photo

Dr. Seth Young


Assistant Professor | Geology
sayoung2@fsu.edu
(850) 644-2703
CAR 305
Website | Google Scholar

• Stratigragraphy & Sedimentary Geochemistry
• Stable Isotope Biogeochemistry
• Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology
• Carbon and Sulfur Cycling