Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Academic Faculty


Dr. Atwood Photo

Dr. Alyssa Atwood

Assistant Professor | Meteorology, Oceanography and Environmental Science
aatwood@fsu.edu
(850) 644-2770
EOS 4017
Website | Google Scholar

• Tropical climate variability and change
• Isotope geochemistry
• Paleoclimate data, models and theory
Dr. Baco-Taylor Photo

Dr. Amy Baco-Taylor

Professor | Oceanography and Environmental Science
abacotaylor@fsu.edu
(850) 645-1547
EOAS 4005
Google Scholar

• Marine Molecular Ecology
• Benthic Ecology
• Deep-Sea Coral Ecology
• Conservation of Benthic Marine Invertebrates
Dr. Bono photo

Dr. Richard Bono

Assistant Professor | Geology
rbono@fsu.edu
(850) 644-6265
EOAS 6073
Google Scholar | Website | ORCiD

• Geophysics
• Planetary dynamos
• Paleomagnetism
• Deep interior evolution
Dr. Bourassa Photo

Dr. Mark A. Bourassa

Professor | Meteorology and Environmental Science
mbourassa@fsu.edu
(850) 645-4788
EOAS 5009
Website | Google Scholar | CV

• Air/Sea Interaction and Observing Systems
• Remote Sensing
• Boundary-Layer Meteorology
• Tropical Meteorology
Dr. Cai Photo

Dr. Ming Cai

Professor | Meteorology
mcai@fsu.edu
(850) 645-1551
EOAS 6035
Google Scholar | CV

• Dynamics of global mass circulation, Climate Change, Stratosphere-Troposphere Coupling
Dr. Chagnon Photo

Dr. Jeff Chagnon

Teaching Faculty II | Meteorology
jchagnon@fsu.edu
(850) 644-2752
EOAS 6079
Google Scholar

• Mid-Latitude Dynamics Numerical Modeling
Dr. Chanton Photo

Dr. Jeff Chanton

Lawton Distinguished Professor | Oceanography and Environmental Science
jchanton@fsu.edu
(850) 644-7493
EOAS 4004
Google Scholar | CV

• Chemical Oceanography Geochemistry
• Environmental Geologyy
Dr. Chassignet Photo

Dr. Eric Chassignet

Distinguished Professor | Oceanography
echassignet@fsu.edu
(850) 645-7288
EOAS 4023 and COAPS 207
Website | Google Scholar | CV

• Climate variability from coupled ocean-atmosphere modeling and observations.
• Emphasis on the study of thermohaline circulation, western boundary currents, associated eddies and their impact on the world ocean circulation.
Dr. Dewar Photo

Dr. William Dewar

The Pierre Welander Professor | Oceanography and Environmental Science
wdewar@fsu.edu
(850) 644-4099
EOAS 4007
CV

• Dynamics of the ocean at scales from 100 km to 10,000 km, or from the deformation scale to the basin scale.
Dr. Diamond Photo

Dr. Michael Diamond

Starting Spring 2023 | Meteorology and Environmental Science
michael.steven.diamond@gmail.com
EOAS M5021
Website | Google Scholar | CV

• Clouds, aerosol, and precipitation
• Climate Change
• Earth’s albedo
• Marine cloud brightening
Dr. Evans Photo

Dr. Scott Evans

Starting Spring 2023 | Geology
scotte23@vt.edu
EOAS 3021
CV

• Earth-Life Interactions
• Paleobiology & Paleoecology
• Exceptional Preservation
• Evolution & Development
Dr. Fuelberg Photo

Dr. Henry Fuelberg

Professor | Meteorology
hfuelberg@fsu.edu
(850) 644-6466
EOAS 6083
Website | CV

• Synoptic and Mesometeorology, Lightning, Long-range transport of pollutants and emissions
Dr. Fuentes Photo

Dr. Mariana Fuentes

Associate Professor | Oceanography and Environmental Science
mfuentes@fsu.edu
(850) 644-1118
EOAS 6093
Website | Google Scholar

• Marine Conservation
• Conservation Planning, Natural Resource Management
• Anthropogenic and Climate Change Impacts on Marine Mega-Fauna, especially Marine Turtles
GoddardPhoto
Danny Goddard

Teaching Faculty – Visiting | Environmental Science
jgoddard@fsu.edu
(850) 644-4823
EOAS M5013

Dr. Hart Photo

Dr. Robert Hart

Department Chair
Professor | Meteorology
rhart@fsu.edu
(850) 645-1552
EOAS 6085
Chairs Office – EOAS 2008D
Website | CV

• Synoptic-Dynamic Meteorology
• Tropical Cyclones
• Cyclone genesis and development
• Tropical-extratropical interactions
• Statistical and Numerical weather prediction
• Visualization techniques
Dr. Holmes Photo

Dr. Christopher Holmes

Associate Professor | Meteorology and Environmental Science
cdholmes@fsu.edu
(850) 645-0972
EOAS 6051
Website | Google Scholar

• Atmospheric Chemistry
• Climate Change
• Atmosphere-Surface Interactions
. Air quality
. Fires and Smoke
Dr. Huettel Photo

Dr. Markus Huettel

Professor | Oceanography and Environmental Science
mhuettel@fsu.edu
(850) 645-1394
EOAS 5002
Website | CV

• Benthic Ecology
• Ecology of coastal and shelf environments with emphasis on processes in the sediments and at the sediment-water interface.
Dr. Humayun Photo

Dr. Munir Humayun

Professor | Geology and Environmental Science
humayun@magnet.fsu.edu
(850) 644-1908
EOAS M5007 and NHMFL B326
Google Scholar | CV

• Cosmochemistry
• Laser ablation microanalysis
• Geochemistry of the platinum group elements
• Isotope Systematics
Dr. Knapp Photo

Dr. Angela Knapp

Associate Professor | Oceanography and Environmental Science
anknapp@fsu.edu
(850) 644-0259
EOAS 5007
Website | Google Scholar

• Nitrogen Cycling
• Marine Biogeochemistry
• Isotope Geochemistry
• Nitrogen Fixation
Dr. Kranz Photo

Dr. Sven Kranz

Associate Professor | Oceanography and Environmental Science
skranz@fsu.edu
(850) 645-0954
EOAS 6091
Website | Google Scholar | CV

• Phytoplankton Ecology
• Antarctic and Tropical Oceanic Primary Production
• Photosynthesis
• Nutrient Acquisition by Phytoplankton
• N2 Fixation by Cynobacteria
Dr. Liu Photo

Dr. Guosheng Liu

Professor | Meteorology
gliu@fsu.edu
(850) 644-6298
EOAS 6033
Website | Google Scholar | CV

• Radiative transfer, Satellite remote sensing and applications to forecasting and climate research
Dr. Mason Photo

Dr. Olivia Mason

Associate Professor | Oceanography and Environmental Science
omason@fsu.edu
(850) 645-1725
EOAS 4009
Website | Google Scholar

• Marine Microbial Ecology
Dr. Misra Photo

Dr. Vasu Misra

Professor | Meteorology and Environmental Science
vmisra@fsu.edu
(850) 644-2814
EOAS 5049
Website | CV

• Climate variability and predictability
Dr. Mookherjee Photo

Dr. Mainak Mookherjee

Associate Professor | Geology
mmookherjee@fsu.edu
(850) 644-1536
EOAS 6075
Website | Google Scholar

• Mineral Physics
• Solid Earth
Dr. Nicholson Photo

Dr. Sharon E. Nicholson

Lawton Distinguished Professor | Meteorology and Environmental Science
snicholson@fsu.edu
(850) 644-4022
EOAS M5023
CV | Google Scholar

• Tropical meteorology
Dr. Owens Photo

Dr. Jeremy Owens

Associate Professor | Geology and Environmental Science
jdowens@fsu.edu
(850) 644-5018
EOAS M5002 and NHMFL B236
Website | Google Scholar

• Paleooceanography & Paleoclimatology
• Biogeochemistry
• Isotope Geochemistry
• Stratigraphy & Sedimentary Geochemistry
Dr. Parfitt Photo

Dr. Rhys Parfitt

Assistant Professor | Meteorology, Oceanography and Environmental Science
rparfitt@fsu.edu
(850) 645-9810
EOAS 6077
Website | Google Scholar

• Marine meteorology
• Mid-latitude climate variability
Dr. Parker Photo

Dr. William C. Parker

Professor Adjunct | Geology
wparker@fsu.edu
(850) 644-1568
EOAS 5005
CV

• Evolutionary Paleontology
• Paleoecology
• Multivariate Data Analysis
Dr. Salters Photo

Dr. Vincent J.M. Salters

Professor | Geology
salters@magnet.fsu.edu
(850) 644-1934
EOAS M5004 and NHMFL B302
Google Scholar | CV

• Trace element & isotope geochemistry
Dr. Spencer Photo

Dr. Robert Spencer

Professor | Oceanography and Environmental Science
rgspencer@fsu.edu
(850) 645-0955
EOAS 4015
Website | Google Scholar

• Biogeochemistry
Dr. Emily Stewart

Dr. Emily Stewart

Assistant Professor | Geology
emstewart@fsu.edu
EOAS M5003
Website | Google Scholar | CV

• Metamorphic Petrology
• Deep Carbon Cycle
• Geochemistry
Dr. Maya Stokes photo

Dr. Maya Stokes

Starting Spring 2023
maya.stokes@yale.edu

Website

• Geomorphology
• Phylogenetics
• Biogeography of North American freshwater fishes
Dr. Stukel Photo

Dr. Mike Stukel

Associate Professor | Oceanography and Environmental Science
mstukel@fsu.edu
(850) 645-0960
EOAS 6089
Website | Google Scholar | CV

• The Biological Pump
• Plankton Trophic Dynamics
• The Balance of New and Export Production
• Th-234 Flux
• Biogeochemical Modeling
Dr. Sun Photo

Dr. Shantong Sun

Starting Fall 2022 – Oceanography
shantong@caltech.edu
EOAS 5011
Website| Google Scholar

• Ocean circulation
• Polar Oceanography
• Climate change
• Sea ice
• Carbon cycle
Dr. Sura Photo

Dr. Philip Sura

Associate Professor | Meteorology and Environmental Science
psura@fsu.edu
(850) 644-1268
EOAS 6039
Website | CV

• Stochastic-dynamical understanding of extreme climate events
Dr. Tull Photo

Dr. James F. Tull

Professor | Geology
jtull@fsu.edu
(850) 644-1448
EOAS 5003
CV

• Structural and metamorphic core evolution
• Thrust belt evolution
• Tectonic modeling of Paleozoic orogenic belts, emphasis on Appalachian and • Caledonian mountain systems
• Successor basin formation and genesis
Dr. Wang Photo

Dr. Yang Wang

Professor | Geology and Environmental Science
ywang@magnet.fsu.edu
(850) 644-1121
EOAS M5005 and NHMFL B327
Google Scholar | CV

• Geochemistry
• Paleoclimate and paleoecology
• Food webs in modern and fossil ecosystems
• Biogeochemical cycling of carbon and nutrients
• Water cycle
Dr. Wing Photo

Dr. Allison Wing

Assistant Professor | Meteorology and Environmental Science
awing@fsu.edu
(850) 644-2245
EOAS 6081
Website | Google Scholar

• Tropical Convection and Climate
• Tropical Cyclones
Dr. Wu Photo

Dr. Zhaohua Wu

Professor | Meteorology
zwu@coaps.fsu.edu
(850) 645-7463
EOAS 6041 and COAPS 219A
Google Scholar | CV

• Atmospheric and climate dynamics
Dr. Ye Photo

Dr. Ming Ye

Professor | Geology and Environmental Science
mye@fsu.edu
(850) 645-4987
EOAS 3015
Website | Google Scholar

• Hydrogeology
• Groundwater reactive transport modeling
• Uncertainty quantification
• Geostatistics
Dr. Young Photo

Dr. Seth Young

Associate Professor | Geology
sayoung2@fsu.edu
(850) 644-2703
EOAS 5004
Website | Google Scholar

• Stratigragraphy & Sedimentary Geochemistry
• Stable Isotope Biogeochemistry
• Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology
• Carbon and Sulfur Cycling