Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Emeritus


Dr. Burnett Photo
Dr. William Burnett


Professor Emeritus | Oceanography
wburnett@fsu.edu
(850) 644-1558
OSB 319
Google Scholar | CV

• Applications of naturally occurring radio isotopes to address problems in the earth, marine, and environmental sciences
• Environmental radioactivity
Dr. Ellingson Photo
Dr. Robert G. Ellingson


Professor Emeritus | Meteorology
rellingson@admin.fsu.edu
(850) 644-6292
LOV 352
Website | CV

• Physical Meteorology, Thermodynamics, Cloud Physics, Radiative Transfer
Dr. Hsueh Photo
Dr. Ya Hsueh


Professor Emeritus | Oceanography
yhsueh@fsu.edu
(850) 644-6704
OSB 411

• Physical Oceanography
Dr. Iverson Photo
Dr. Richard L. Iverson


Professor Emeritus | Oceanography
(850) 644-6205
CV

• Biological Oceanography
• Marine Ecosystem Dynamics
Dr. R. Krishnamurti Photo
Dr. Ruby Krishnamurti


Professor Emeritus | Oceanography
ruby@gfdi.fsu.edu
(850) 644-6085
KEEN 018
CV

• Physical Oceanography
Dr. T.N. Krishnamurti Photo
Dr. T.N. Krishnamurti


Lawton Distinguished Professor, Professor Emeritus (Deceased) | Meteorology

• Tropical Meteorology
Dr. Loper Photo
Dr. David Loper


Professor Emeritus | Geology
loper@gfdi.fsu.edu

• Core dynamics & dynamo energetics and mantle convection
• Flow and transport in karstic aquifers
• Waves and flows in the atmosphere, oceans & mantle
Dr. Marcus Photo

Dr. Nancy Marcus


Lawton Distinguished Professor, Professor Emeritus (Deceased) | Oceanography

• Biological Oceanography
Dr. Nof Photo
Dr. Doron Nof


Professor Emeritus | Oceanography
dnof@fsu.edu
(850) 644-2736
OSB 419
Website | CV

• Movement of fluids within the ocean & its relationship to the atmosphere above
Dr. James J. O'Brien Photo
Dr. James J. O’Brien


Lawton Distinguished Professor, Professor Emeritus (Deceased) | Meteorology and Oceanography

• Upper ocean dynamics
• El Niño modeling
• Founder of Center for Ocean-Atmospheric Prediction Studies
Dr. Pfeffer Photo
Dr. Richard L. Pfeffer


Professor Emeritus | Meteorology
pfeffer@fsu.edu
(850) 644-2210

• Dynamic Meteorology
• Founder of the Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Institute
• The Carl-Gustaf Rossby Professor of Meteorology
• Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus
Dr. Raymond Staley


Professor Emeritus | Oceanography
raymondcs@mlgc.com
(850) 644-6205

• Oceanography
• Meteorology
Dr. Sturges Photo
Dr. Wilton Sturges III


Professor Emeritus | Oceanography
wsturges@fsu.edu
(850) 644-3838
OSB 413
Website | Google Scholar | CV

• Physical Oceanography
Dr. Thistle Photo
Dr. David Thistle


Professor Emeritus | Oceanography
dthistle@fsu.edu
(850) 644-4089
OSB 513
Website

• Benthic Ecology, Emergence of Primarily Benthic Organisms, Range sizes of Deep-Sea Species
Dr. Weatherly Photo
Dr. Georges Weatherly


Professor Emeritus | Oceanography
gweatherly@fsu.edu
(850) 644-6205

• Sub-thermocline ocean circulation
• Bottom boundary layers
• Circulation in the Gulf of Mexico
• Coastal oceanography
Dr. Winchester Photo
Dr. John W. Winchester


Professor Emeritus | Oceanography
jwinchester@fsu.edu
(850) 576-0954
2405 Delgado Drive, Tallahassee, FL 32304

• Atmospheric and environmental chemistry
• Public understanding of science
Dr. Wise Photo
Dr. Sherwood ‘Woody’ Wise, Jr.


Professor Emeritus | Geology
swise@fsu.edu
(850) 644-6265
CAR 221
CV

• Marine Geology
• Micropaleontology